Name of States and Union Territories of India

Name of States and Union Territories of India with The Name of their Capitals 2022

Name of States and Union Territories of India – Friends, today we are here to provide you the names of the states of India and their capitals, India is divides into a total of 28 states and 8 union territories. Every state of our country has a different culture, costumes, language and a separate identity.

But the best thing is that people in India live together, all these states are divided based on their culture and language.

Name of States and Union Territories of India

India is a democratic country where everyone has a right to speak on their own can fight for their rights. There is also separate election for every state as the people of state choose their own government by giving votes to them.
In the states of India elections are held every 5 year and with this people choose their government or a candidate according to their voting.

Number of States in India

India has a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories.

Name of States and Capitals of India in English

What is Union Territories?

The Union Territories are dominated by the Central Government and there is a Lieutenant Governor as an Administrator, who is the representative of the President of India and appointed by the Central Government.

Name List of States and Their Capitals of India with Foundation Date

State Name Capital Foundation Date or Statehood Largest City
Andhra Pradesh Amaravati 1 November 1956 Visakhatapatnam
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 February 1987 Itanagar
Assam Dispur 26 January 1950 Guwahati
Bihar Patna 26 January 1950 Patna
Chattisgarh Nava Raipur 1 November 2000 Raipur
Goa Panaji 30 May 1987 Vasco da Gama
Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May 1960 Ahmedabad
Haryana Chandigarh 1 November 1966 Faridabad
Himachal Pradesh Shimla (Summer)
Dharmshala (Winter)
25 January 1971 Shimla
Jharkhand Ranchi 15 November 2000 Jamshedpur
Karnataka Bengaluru/Banglore 1 November 1956 Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 November 1956 Kochi
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 26 January 1950 Indore
Maharashtra Mumbai (Summer)
Nagpur (Winter)
1 May 1960 Mumbai
Manipur Imphal 21 January 1972 Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong 21 January 1972 Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl 20 February 1987 Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima 1 December 1963 Dimapur
Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 January 1950 Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh 1 November 1966 Ludhiana
Rajasthan Jaipur 26 January 1950 Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok 16 May 1975 Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai 1 November 1956 Chennai
Telgana Hyderabad 2 June 2014 Hyderabad
Tripura Agartala 21 January 1972 Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 January 1950 Kanpur
Uttrakhand Gairsain (Summer)
Dehradun (Winter)
9 November 2000 Dehradun
West Bengal Kolkata 26 January 1950 Kolkata


Union Territories and Their Capitals with their Foundation Date

Union Territories Capitals Foundation Date
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 November 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Daman 26 January 2020
Delhi New Delhi 1 November 1956
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 October 2019
Ladakh Leh (Summer)
Kargil (Winter)
31 October 2019
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 November 1956
Puducherry Puducherry 16 August 1962

Some Interesting Facts About India

  1. India is the second-largest country in terms of population.
  2. More than 10000 languages are spoken here.
  3. The National language of India is “Hindi”.
  4. India (Meghalaya) is the wettest place on Earth.
  5. Its maximum length from North to South is 3, 214 km. The maximum width from East to West is 2,933 km.
  6. Most of the cultivation in India is based on monsoon.
  7. The main occupation in India is also farming.
  8. India also has the highest rail bridge on earth which “Chenab Bridge”.
  9. India is a secular country, so all religions are given equal status here. People of Hindu, Sikh, Muslim, Christian, Jain, etc. religions live here.
  10. India has 22 recognised languages.
  11. India was also the first country to mine diamonds.
  12. The origin of the popular game Snake and Ladder is also India.
  13. Andaman and Nicobar Islands (8,249) are the largest in terms of area and Lakshadweep is the smallest union territory with an area of 32 square kilometers.
  14. The world’s largest fair is held in India which is called the “Kumbh Mela”. And it can be seen from the space.
  15. India is the largest English language speaking country in the world.
  16. The world’s most vegetarian people live in India.
  17. World’s largest Sundial is located in India (Jaipur).
  18. In some places of India like Chattisgarh state people use Coke and Pepsi as a pesticide on their rice crops.
  19. India has one of the lowest divorce rate in the whole world.
  20. India is also the origin of Yoga and Ayurveda.

FAQs on Name of States and Capitals of India in English

How many states are there in India?

There are 28 states and 8 union territories in India.

What is the capital of India?

New Delhi is the capital of India.

Read it also: Top 10 Richest Person in the World

1 thought on “Name of States and Union Territories of India”

Leave a Comment